With gratitude to Chef Thomas Heller…I made the biscuits from his recipe with just a few changes…try making them tonight!

Combine in sifter: 2 cups flour, 1 1/2 tablespoons kosher salt, 1 tablespoon baking powder 1 teaspoon baking soda…sift into good size mixing bowl

Use 2 sticks cold, REAL butter, cut into small pieces…with my hands, or a pastry blender, I work butter lightly into the flour mixture.

NEXT, pour 1 1/2 cups of buttermilk into dry mixture and work in with a wooden spoon until mixture  comes together, but do not over mix. I use my hands and then turn out mixture onto a floured board to lightly knead.

Preheat oven to 425

Roll out dough to about 3/4 inch thick…use biscuit cutter or glass dipped in flour to cut out biscuits. Arrange on baking sheet with parchment paper that has been buttered.

Brush tops of biscuits with buttermilk and bake for 18-20 minutes or until lightly browned. Do not overcook!

Remove from oven and that’s when I spread MORE real butter over the top of biscuits.

Serve with butter and homemade jam, of course…ooooh, and maybe some “oven fried” chicken, too!

[See photo of biscuits]

 

 

 

Leave a comment